Providence Opens 20th Season vs. St. John's

Providence, RI - The Providence Bruins, entering their 20th season in the American Hockey League, today announced their schedule for the 2011-12 season. The P-Bruins will play a 76 game schedule led by head coach Bruce Cassidy and assistant coach Kevin Dean. The club will open their 20th Anniversary season on Friday, October 7 at 7:05 p.m., hosting the newly formed St. John's IceCaps at the Dunkin' Donuts Center.

The P-Bruins' 38-home game schedule features all weekend dates, including 22 Friday night games and 16 Sunday afternoon contests. All Friday night games will be played at 7:05 p.m., while all Sunday games will begin at 4:05 p.m.

Providence will compete in the revamped five-team Atlantic Division, which has been reduced from seven clubs in 2010-11. Providence will face their Atlantic Division rivals in 36 of the 76 contests on their 2011-12 schedule. The P-Bruins will face-off with the Manchester Monarchs and Portland Pirates 10 times apiece, the Worcester Sharks 12 times and the IceCaps four times.

The Black and Gold will also play each team from the Northeast Conference, which includes the Adirondack Phantoms, Albany Devils, Bridgeport Sound Tigers, Connecticut Whale and Springfield Falcons. In the East Division, the P-Bruins will play one home-and-home series with the Hershey Bears and Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins as well as four contests versus the Norfolk Admirals. The Admirals, Phantoms and IceCaps are the three new opponents on Providence's schedule.

Providence will see the most ice time in November, December, February and March, each with 12 contests scheduled. The club will play a season high eight home games in October, while hitting the road a high of seven times in November, December and February.

The P-Bruins' longest home stand is three games, which occurs three times throughout the season in October, February and March. The longest road stretch of the year is four games from December 26 to December 31, during which the club faces Manchester twice, Portland and the Northeast Division's Springfield.