Providence to Play 14 Teams Next Season

Providence, RI - The American Hockey League today announced its schedule format and divisional alignments for the 2009-10 season. The Providence Bruins will play their current Atlantic Division rivals from the Eastern Conference and will make a trip out to Abbotsford to face the newly formed Heat.  All told, the 2009-10 competition for the P-Bruins features 14 different opponents, six of which made the postseason in 2008-09.

While the schedule will not be announced until late in the summer, the P-Bruins' schedule format is as follows. In Atlantic Division competition, Providence will face all eight teams, including the Bridgeport Sound Tigers, Hartford Wolf Pack, Lowell Devils, Manchester Monarchs, Portland Pirates, Springfield Falcons and the Worcester Sharks. In the East Division, the P-Bruins will battle the Adirondack Phantoms, Albany River Rats, Binghamton Senators, Hershey Bears, Syracuse Crunch and Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins. In the Western Conference, the P-Bruins take on the Abbotsford Heat.

A complete breakdown of the P-Bruins' opponents and how many times they will face each other, along with the conference and divisional alignments are as follows:



Bridgeport Sound Tigers (New York Islanders) - 3 H, 3 A
Hartford Wolf Pack (New York Rangers) - 5 H, 5 A
Lowell Devils (New Jersey) - 5 H, 5 A
Manchester Monarchs (Los Angeles) - 5 H, 5 A
Portland Pirates (Buffalo) - 4 H, 4 A
Springfield Falcons (Edmonton) - 5 H, 5 A
Worcester Sharks (San Jose) - 5 H, 5 A


Adirondack Phantoms (Philadelphia) - 1 H, 1 A
Albany River Rats (Carolina) - 1 H, 1 A
Binghamton Senators (Ottawa) - 1 H, 1 A
Hershey Bears (Washington) - 1 H, 1 A
Norfolk Admirals (Tampa Bay)
Syracuse Crunch (Columbus) - 1 H, 1 A
Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (Pittsburgh) - 1 H, 1 A



Abbotsford Heat (Calgary) - 2 H, 2 A
Grand Rapid Griffins (Detroit)
Hamilton Bulldogs (Montreal)
Lake Erie Monsters (Colorado)
Manitoba Moose (Vancouver)
Rochester Americans (Florida)
Toronto Marlies (Toronto)

Chicago Wolves (Atlanta)
Houston Aeros (Minnesota)
Milwaukee Admirals (Nashville)
Peoria Rivermen (St. Louis)
Rockford IceHogs (Chicago)
San Antonio Rampage (Phoenix)
Texas Stars (Dallas)

The AHL will continue to feature two conferences, now encompassing three seven-team divisions and one eight-club division. Three new teams join the AHL this upcoming season, including the Texas Stars, Abbotsford, and Adirondack giving the league a total of 29 clubs vying for the 2010 Calder Cup.

For information on 2009-10 regular season ticket packages, call the Providence Bruins ticket office at 401-273-5000 or log onto the team website at www.providencebruins.com.