Providence Bruins

Sep 29, 2016


Providence, RI - The American Hockey League today announced the four people selected for induction into the American Hockey League Hall of Fame as the Class of 2017, including former Providence Bruins coach Rob Murray. 

Honored by the AHL Hall of Fame Selection Committee as the 12th group of enshrinees are Billy Dea, Bryan Helmer, Rob Murray and Doug Yingst.  

“The history of the American Hockey League is defined by the standards of excellence set by those who have played, coached and worked here over the past eight decades,” said David Andrews, AHL President and Chief Executive Officer. “The AHL Board of Governors is proud to unanimously endorse the Selection Committee’s recommendation for the induction of these four individuals into the American Hockey League Hall of Fame as the Class of 2017.” 

The Class of 2017 will be honored as part of the festivities at the 2017 Capital BlueCross AHL All-Star Classic, hosted by the Lehigh Valley Phantoms. The American Hockey League Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony is scheduled for January 30, 2017, in Allentown, Pa. 

Formed in 2006 to recognize, honor and celebrate individuals for their outstanding achievements and contributions in the American Hockey League, the AHL Hall of Fame is housed online at and is accessible to fans worldwide with the click of a mouse as part of the AHL Internet Network. 

In operation since 1936, the AHL continues to serve as the top development league for the players, coaches, managers, executives and broadcasters of all 30 National Hockey League teams, as well as the NHL’s on-ice officials. By season’s end in 2015-16, more than 88 percent of all NHL players were American Hockey League graduates, including more than 200 former first- and second-round draft picks and more than 300 players who appeared in both leagues last season alone. 

For more on former P-Bruins Coach Rob Murray and the other inductees, visit:

Premier Partners