Providence Squad Comprised of 25, Including 10 Rookies

Providence, RI - The Providence Bruins, entering their 19th season in the American Hockey League, have announced their opening night roster with their season set to begin on Friday, October 8. The P-Bruins are scheduled to host the Springfield Falcons at 7:05 p.m. at the Dunkin' Donuts Center. Providence's squad is comprised of 25 players, including 14 forwards, nine defensemen and two goaltenders. Among the group are four veterans, 10 rookies and an average age of 23 years.

For the third straight season, the P-Bruins are led on the bench by head coach Rob Murray and assistant coach Bruce Cassidy. Over their two seasons together, Providence has compiled a 79-67-11-3 overall record, an average of 86 points per season, and one trip to the Eastern Conference Finals in 2008-09.

Murray and Cassidy welcome back 16 on-ice contributors from last year's club, including forwards Jamie Arniel, Joe Colborne, Zach Hamill, Jordan Knackstedt, Jeff LoVecchio, Lane MacDermid, Kirk MacDonald, Levi Nelson, Yannick Riendeau and Maxime Sauve, defensemen Andrew Bodnarchuk, Alain Goulet, Steve Kampfer, Jeff Penner and Cody Wild, and goaltender Matt Dalton. Veteran Jeremy Reich has also enjoyed considerable time in Rhode Island, last suiting up for the P-Bruins during the 2008-09 season.

New faces to the locker room this year include veteran forwards Wyatt Smith and Jordan LaVallee-Smotherman, along with rookie Antoine Roussel. Also new to the fold is veteran blue-liner Nathan McIver and first-year defensemen Yury Alexandrov, Matt Bartkowski and Ryan Donald. Bartkowski will join the team after the Boston Bruins return from Prague. Finally, goaltender Michael Hutchinson also enters his first professional season.

The club's captains are expected to be announced in the coming days.


Jamie Arniel, Joe Colborne (R), Zach Hamill, Jordan Knackstedt, Jeff LoVecchio, Lane MacDermid, Kirk MacDonald, Levi Nelson, Jeremy Reich (V), Yannick Riendeau (R), Antoine Roussel (R), Maxime Sauve (R), Wyatt Smith (V), Jordan LaVallee-Smotherman (V)

Defensemen: Yury Alexandrov (R), Matt Bartkowski (R), Andrew Bodnarchuk, Ryan Donald (R), Alain Goulet, Steve Kampfer (R), Nathan McIver (V), Jeff Penner, Cody Wild

Goaltenders: Matt Dalton (R), Michael Hutchinson (R)


Providence opens the regular season at The Dunk this Friday, October 8 at 7:05 p.m. against Springfield. P-Bruins ticket packages and individual game tickets are on sale now for the 2010-11 season. To purchase tickets or for more information, call the P-Bruins ticket office at (401) 273-5000 or log on to providencebruins.com.

For all the latest Providence Bruins news, updates and special offers, become a fan of the P-Bruins on Facebook at facebook.com/providencebruins or follow the club on Twitter at twitter.com/AHLBruins.